Share It

Bhubaneswar, March 9: Institute of Agricultural Sciences (IAS) emerged the group champions in the annual SOA Cup sports competition while two athletes, Aditya Majhi of SOA National Institute of Law (SNIL) and Solancee Uramani of SUM Nursing College (SNC), were crowned men’s and women’s champions respectively in track and field events.

Students from SOA’s ten affiliated institutions participated in the three week-long event competing in various sports disciplines including football, cricket, volleyball, throw ball, soft ball, basketball, table tennis and tennis.

In men’s football, Foreign Students’ II, a team comprising overseas students, became champions when it trounced IAS 5-0 in the final while Institute of Medical Sciences (IMS) won both men’s and women’s crown in basketball. In the men’s final, IMS defeated Institute of Technical Education and Research (ITER) 40-31 while in the women’s final the medical students downed the same opponents 16-12.

In the men’s cricket final, Computer Science and Engineering of ITER beat Institute of Business and Computer Studies (IBCS) by five wickets while in the women’s event, IAS defeated Institute of Dental Sciences (IDS) by 46 runs.
IAS boys defeated School of Pharmaceutical Sciences (SPS) 7-2 in the softball final while SNIL won the women’s event by outplaying IAS 26-17. In Throw Ball women’s final, ITER beat SNC 2-0.

In volleyball, Computer Science and Engineering (ITER) defeated IBCS by three sets to one to win the men’s title while Amitoj Singh Sachdeva (IMS) beat Jaydish Chand (SPS) 6-0, 6-3 in the tennis men’s final.

In men’s and women’s Kho Kho, IBCS won both finals at the expense of IAS while CSE (ITER) and ITER lifted the Kabaddi men’s and women’s titles defeating SPS and IAS respectively. In Table Tennis, Abinash Tripathy of CSE won the men’s crown defeating Binayak Pandit of IAS while SNIL’s Payal Pani won the women’s title beating Arohi Acharya (SPS) in the final.

In Chess, Aditya Ranjan Samal (CSE) finished at the top in men’s section while Sneha Verma (SNIL) took the women’s title.
Sartik Satyakam Nayak of Mechanical Engineering (ITER) was adjudged the winner in the best physique competition.
Olympian Anuradha Biswal was the chief guest at the concluding function held on March 7 which was also attended by international volleyball player Ananya Das. SOA Vice-Chancellor Prof. Pradipta Kumar Nanda attended the program. SOA’s Dean (Students’ Welfare) Prof.  Jyoti Ranjan Das, Sports Officer Ms. Sunita Barma and IAS Prof. Anshuman Jena were present.

Share It
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.