Sehwag’s Sizzling Legacy Secures ICC Hall of Fame Berth; Edulji and de Silva Join the Prestigious Pantheon

Share It

In a recent announcement, the International Cricket Council (ICC) revealed the latest additions to its prestigious Cricket Hall of Fame. The distinguished list now includes India’s iconic opener Virender Sehwag, former Indian Women’s Test captain Diana Edulji, and Sri Lanka’s cricket maestro Aravinda de Silva. With these three inductions, the Hall of Fame boasts a total of 112 cricketing legends.

India, a powerhouse in cricket, sees its representation expand in the Hall of Fame, with eight cricketers already holding this esteemed honor. The illustrious names include Sunil Gavaskar, Bishan Singh Bedi, Kapil Dev, Anil Kumble, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Vinoo Mankad, Diana Edulji, and now, Virender Sehwag.

Virender Sehwag, known for his dynamism as a destructive opener in the modern era, leaves an indelible mark on the cricketing world. The first Indian to achieve a Triple century, Sehwag scored two Triple Hundreds during his remarkable career. Amassing 23 Test centuries, he ranks seventh among Indian men’s players. His highest score of 319 against South Africa in 2008 remains the pinnacle for any Indian player. Sehwag’s contributions were pivotal in India’s triumph in the 2011 World Cup, where his 380 runs ranked eighth among all players.

Sehwag’s illustrious career stats, as per ICC, include:

  • 104 Tests: 8,586 runs at an average of 49.34, 40 wickets
  • 251 ODIs: 8,273 runs at an average of 35.05, 96 wickets
  • 19 T20Is: 394 runs at an average of 21.88

Diana Edulji, the former Indian Women’s Test skipper, makes history as the first Indian female cricketer to be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame. Edulji’s contributions extend beyond her impressive performances in three ICC Women’s Cricket World Cups. Leading India as captain in 1978 and 1993, she claimed 14 wickets. Edulji’s administrative role with Western Railways reflects her dedication to creating opportunities for women cricketers and shaping sports policies.

Expressing her joy, Edulji said, “It indeed is a great honor to be the first Indian Women Cricketer to be inducted and join a galaxy of cricketers, male and female from across the world.”

The third inductee, Aravinda de Silva, adds a touch of Sri Lankan brilliance to the ICC Hall of Fame. A vital part of Sri Lanka’s 1996 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup-winning team, de Silva’s consistency and prowess with the bat set him apart. With 20 Test centuries in an 18-year international career, he stands as the third-highest century-maker for Sri Lanka. In ODIs, he played 308 games, scoring 9,284 runs at an average of 34.90.

Upon receiving this prestigious honor, de Silva expressed profound gratitude, stating, “This achievement is a tribute to the dedication, sacrifice, and love that have shaped my cricketing journey.”

The inclusion of Sehwag, Edulji, and de Silva in the ICC Hall of Fame adds to the legacy of cricketing excellence, celebrating the achievements of these legends on the global stage.

Share It
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.